top of page

I Henry IV

Sandra Goddess Looney cancelled class tomorrow because she has a retirement party in Minneapolis today. That means I have one more Shakespeare class and my final. Yesterday she gave me back my writing on I Henry IV in which I talk about the idea of honor:

The idea of honor is one of the most prevalent themes that run throughout the first part of William Shakespeare's Henry IV. But although the nature of honor is arguably the most explored theme in the play, it is never really given a consistent definition.

I found it interesting that each character's idea of what it means to be honorable varies from what another character believes the definition to be. A couple of the characters' ideas of honor seem to be quite simple. When he does well on the battlefield, Hotspur feels he is honorable. Falstaff doesn't seem to believe that even thinking about the definition of honor does anyone any good. Other characters, however, like King Henry and Prince Hal, have definitions of honor that are more messy and complex.

I found it extremely ironic, and also completely brilliant, that the namesake of the play written to explore the idea of honor is--if you ignore Falstaff for the time being--arguably the most dishonorable character in the play. From the opening scene you can tell that King Henry IV's definition of honor has to do with the well-being of his nation. Thus, Henry, and eventually Hal, must deal with the question of legitimacy throughout his rule.

When Henry IV threatens the Percy family for challenging the legitimacy of his rule, Worcester says, "Our house, my sovereign liege, little deserves The scourge of greatness to be used on it, And that same greatness too which our own hands Have holp to make so portly" (I.iii.10-13). This passage reminds King Henry that the Percys helped get him onto the throne and foreshadows their attempt to replace him. I feel like this conversation made Henry IV reflect upon his authority; ultimately, King Henry feels the rebellion against Richard II (and thus his rule) was dishonorable.

In my opinion, Prince Hal's definition of honor is the most complicated of any character. In simple terms, Hal's definition of honor seems to deal with nobility. That can be overshadowed, though, because he seems willing to forgo the appearance of honor to get what he wants: the throne.

Whether he's joking with Falstaff that he'll appoint him executioner or messing with the server at the tavern, even Hal's most evil moves are extremely calculated. We see this when Hal says, "My reformation, glitt'ring o'er my fault, shall show more goodly and attract more eyes than that which hath no foil to set it off. I'll so offend, so make offense a skill, redeeming time when men think least I will" (I.ii.213-217). Even if he appears dishonorable, we see glimpses of his honor such as how he always makes sure to pay back what he steals during robberies.

I think the fact that each character's notion of honor differs shows that honor itself is based more upon an individual's worldview and sense of morality. I think, or at least hope, that Shakespeare was trying to do with I Henry IV is who that there is actually no definition of honor. In a world that is so stuck on what they think words represent, I like the idea that words can have power in different ways.

//120


bottom of page