top of page

The Senior Art Show

Last night the Senior Art Show, Miscellanea, debuted at Augie's Eide/Dalrymple gallary. It was full of cool sculptures and paintings and prints and photographs and drawings. I was amazed, as I have been each of the three years I've gone, at how talented my peers are.

I was, however, most impressed with my friend, Wyatt. He's the graphic designer for the yearbook and I follow him on instagram, so I see a lot of his talent on a daily basis. But at the art show he received a super prestigious award that is given to art students. The last time the Harold Spitznagel Medal for Achievement in Art was given was 2014, and I am so darn proud and happy for my friend who consistently puts so much effort and thought into everything he creates.

Augie wrote a story about it, and you should read all of it here. But if you don't, here's a few of my favorite quotes:

Anna Reich, the photography professor at Augie, said, "Wyatt has consistently produced conceptual work that challenges his viewers and often questions the limitations and perceived boundaries of the respective medium."

In one of Wyatt's artist statements, he wrote, “I am, at times, disgusted by the way people will call whatever they want art and then try to peddle it onto others. To this I respond with my own pieces of crap. Why put much thought into art if people will eat up anything? Several of my pieces, if not all, are honestly moronic and truly do not deserve to exist, except perhaps to critique others into seeing theirs are just as terrible — a 'reductio ad absurdum' argument in a way.” (How cool is that?)

Here's the superstar with all his medals, purchase awards, and art department chair, Dr. Twa

And here's the superstar with all his yearbook fangirls

Wyatt believes that art holds great truths, and I believe that Wyatt does.

//110


bottom of page