top of page

How do I do this again?

Habits are weird. Habits are especially weird when you don't think about forming them.

Each semester I form habits: the best path to take to get to my classes, the best times to eat meals, weekly dates with Haley to watch our favorite tv shows.

But there's also habits I have that I don't think about forming: watching too much Netflix every day when I get home from class even though I told myself over and over I'd work on my paper or read, grabbing a Diet Coke out of the fridge every day at lunch even if I don't want it, picking my nails when I'm bored.

When I started blogging daily in January, I formed a habit. It took a little bit of time, but eventually I just blogged without thinking about it. Blogging became part of my daily routine. And then I took a week off.

You would think that taking a week off wouldn't change much. I have a week off for spring break and when I get back to campus I fall right back into both my good and not so good habits I've developed over my four years of college. But taking a week off from blogging has thrown me for a loop.

I can't think about things to write about. It takes much longer for me to navigate Wix. The literal process of writing a blog feels almost foreign to me. And I'm ready for it to feel normal again.

//088


bottom of page