top of page

International Women's Day

Today is International Women's Day. I love International Women's Day, and, well, any day that gives me an excuse to think about how cool women are. To celebrate, I posted a few pictures on Instagram with some of the wonderful women closest to my heart because I cannot quite put into words just how badass and extraordinary they are.

Here's (just a few, because my stupid butt forgot to start writing my blog until 11 o'clock and I still have to pack for the Spring Break trip I'm leaving on in the morning) a few other women, who I have never met and probably will never meet, that are also close to my heart. They're not quite so close, though, so I think I might be able to put into words why they inspire me.

Michelle Obama

Watch the video of her dancing with Parker and you will understand why she's on the list (amongst many other wonderful things).

Little Mix

Women who empower women are so important and I love seeing a girl band kill it every time they go on stage. Not only do they empower each other, but they empower hundreds of thousands of women and girls all over the world.

All of the Women of Grey's Anatomy, but especially Sarah Drew and Jessica Capshaw

Usually Shonda and Ellen Pompeo are front and center. Don't get me wrong: I love me some strong, powerful, badass, Shonda and Ellen. But today it was announced that Sarah Drew and Jessica Capshaw will not be returning to Grey's Anatomy after season 14 and I'm pretty bummed. They're both such amazing women who represent so many good things in life and I love them so very much.

Beth Pearson

Okay, so, I know Beth Pearson is fictional. And from the little I know of Susan Kelechi Watson, who portrays her, she is pretty amazing. But Beth Pearson deserves so much recognition. She is an amazing mother. She is an amazing wife. She is an amazing person who gives so much to everyone around her and expects so little in return. So she makes the list. SUPPORT BETH PEARSON.

This one might surprise you since I don't constantly talk about her, but I followed Tyler Feder on twitter during the election, and today I have seen so many people posting her incredible artwork all over social media. Check out her stuff--she's mega talented.

GO WOMEN. Happy IWD to one and all.

//067


bottom of page