top of page

Biology

I took my first biology exam today and didn't die; that is a feat in and of itself (especially considering that I missed two days of lecture from Luke's surgery and didn't study at all until last night). I think I even did good on it. Maybe not an A, because, let's be honest, that would require me to actually have read any of the assignments and not just rely on lecture notes, but I feel like I did good enough to get at least a B.

I'm happy with a B. At Augie we get two S/U's during our four years. Basically, instead of doing the typical "pass/fail" system most colleges do, Augie does a satisfactory/unsatisfactory. So, If you decide to S/U a class, you have to get at least a C- in order for the credits to count. The first (and last) time I used an S/U was for my physics class.

And, since I only am taking 3 classes, two of which are in my major, for my last semester, biology is the last thing I can use an S/U on. Which means I need to get a C- in the class to graduate. I can do a C-. The only high school class I ever got a B in was tenth grade biology. I thought it was the end of the world. There were many tears involved. Getting a B in biology is not the end of the world.

I know the mitochondria is the powerhouse of the cell. I can correctly match adenine with thymine and cytosine with guanine to form a double helix. I can do a punnett square to determine if my hypothetical kids will be able to roll their tongue in the same way I do. Plus, the next section is about human organs and diseases, so my obsession with Grey's--ironically probably the reason I don't study or read biology as much as I should--pretty much as me covered there.

Sometimes my advisor, Janet, jokes with me about how I shouldn't have saved the introduction to biology for my senior year (admittedly when I sit in her office and complain about having to go to lab every Wednesday). Sometimes I tweet about how I want the humanities or I want death--making my biology-loving sister to cringe a little bit. And I like to make a stink about how much I dislike the class, but really, it's not all that bad when you look at the grand scheme of things, just like the B I (probably) (hopefully) got on my exam today.

//061


bottom of page