top of page

Want Them Back

I've fallen into a deep, deep hole.

And that hole is a world where the only thing I think about is 5 Seconds of Summer. They just released "Want You Back," their first single in almost two years and this is me:

I sort of forgot they existed. Like, I didn't actually forget they existed. Their music occasionally came on when I had my iTunes on shuffle. But I forgot that they existed. And now my twitter feed is full of 5sauce fans I didn't remember I followed and spotify links to this one song. And every time I see that link I click it.

Want You Back is different, yet it feels so much the same. It somehow manages to sound like old 5SOS and something new at the same time. It's hard to put into words want I mean by that, but I'll try.

There's something different about this song that I can't quite put my finger on. But there is one thing I know--and you do too, if you've ever listened to lyrics by 5 Seconds of Summer--for certain: these lyrics are new and fresh but also just enough like all of my old favorite songs to feel like home. Their lyrics, whether new or old, have soul and sorrow behind them.

Earlier this week my friend Olivia said "they were like my emo One Direction" and, while Panic! has my emo heart forever, it made a lot of sense to me. Luke Hemmings is the sole reason I pierced my lip. The amount of days I wore black skinny jeans just so I could pretend I was Ashton Irwin drumming on my steering wheel on the way to school is almost laughable.

I think the biggest difference about this song is the chorus. For years they've had songs that sound the same all the way through; not in a bad way, but in a cohesive one. This chorus does not sound like it belongs with the verses at first--also not in a bad way, but rather a provocative one.

It feels almost like it should be a Panic! at the Disco song during the verses, and then as soon as the chorus comes on I expect to hear One Direction harmonizing. (Let's be honest: Niall's probably singing Want You Back in the shower as we speak.)

5 Seconds of Summer has taken those soulful lyrics, and sang them with a dark and almost majestic quality in the verses and bridge, and then in the chorus they take a lighter, airy feel that makes Want You Back feel a little more pop-y than their old music. Yet despite that, I think this single is more punk-y and rock-y than anything they've released to date.

Have a listen:

Can't help but wondering if this Is the last time that I'll see your face Is it tears or just the fucking rain? Wish I could say something Something that doesn't sound insane But lately I don't trust my brain You tell me I won't ever change So I just say nothing No matter where I go, I'm always gonna want you back No matter how long you're gone, I'm always gonna want you back I know you know I will never get over you No matter where I go, I'm always gonna want you back Want you back I remember the freckles on your back And the way that I used to make you laugh Cause you know every morning I wake up Yeah I still reach for you I remember the roses on your shirt When you told me this would never work You know even when I say I've moved on Yeah I still dream for you No matter where I go, I'm always gonna want you back No matter how long you're gone, I'm always gonna want you back I know you know I will never get over you No matter where I go, I'm always gonna want you back Want you back (Always gonna want you back Want you back) (Always gonna want you back Want you back) You know even when I say I moved on You know even though I know that you're gone All I think about is where I went wrong You know even when I say I moved on You know even though I know that you're gone All I think about is where I went wrong Yeah I still dream for you No matter where I go, I'm always gonna want you back No matter where I go, I'm always gonna want you back I'm always gonna want you back No matter how long you're gone, I'm always gonna want you back I know you know I will never get over you No matter where I go, I'm always gonna want you back Want you back (Always gonna want you back Want you back) Always gonna want you back Want you back (Always gonna want you back Want you back) Always gonna want you back Want you back

//055


bottom of page