top of page

Edda

Yesterday I had a short meeting with my graphic designer Wyatt to talk about the design we're going to use for pull quotes in the yearbook this year. Today I have a meeting with our Jostens rep to *hopefully* fix a problem with our page ladder. Wednesday afternoon I have a meeting with Janet to *hopefully* submit some finished pages, and then Wednesday night I have a meeting with everybody on staff to work.

I have a lot of yearbook meetings. I spend a lot of time thinking about yearbook things. Answering yearbook questions. Making yearbook spreads that are good, great. Making yearbook spreads that are great, fantastic. And making yearbook spreads that are fantastic, perfect.

What I realized today--for I think the first time since becoming the EiC--is that I don't actually create yearbook spreads any more. I help other people create spreads. I help make said spreads better (see good--great--fantastic--perfect comment above). But I rarely get to sit down with a blank spread on InDesign and make some magic.

One of my favorite things in the world is opening an blank spread for the first time and spending hours and hours finding that perfect layout. One spread I did get to do that on this year was a spread in the Student Life section on a softball game I played in during the Inauguration week of Augie's new president, Stephanie Herseth Sandlin.

It was a fun game during a fun week and it was really fun to take the fun photos from that fun time and make them into a fun spread. I'm pretty proud of how it turned out, and so I thought I'd share with you all the first glimpse into the 2017-2018 yearbook:

I'm pretty excited about this book.

//051


bottom of page