top of page

Today did not go how it is supposed to go.

This blog is slowly and surely becoming a place where I give the internet way more information about my love life than I ever have before. I officially started dating Luke three years ago today, so I decided I'd talk about him yet again today.

For the previous three Valentine's Days, we've gone out for dinner at Granite City, and then followed it up by watching both The Notebook and one of the Star Wars movies. Last week when we were talking about what we wanted to do and decided that is how today was supposed to go.

Class-->Dinner-->Movie. It's nothing particularly special or all that different from what we do on your average day, but it's what we did on the day he asked me to be his girlfriend, so it's what we decided to continue to do on that day.

Today we did not do that. He had surgery yesterday, so today was filled with a lot of alarms that reminded him to take his narcotics every six hours, intertwined with bouts of naps on his part, a little bit of class and school-related commitments on my part, and eating soft, basic foods that would hopefully go down his dry, sore throat easily.

Today did not go how it was supposed to go, but as my little patient said: "sometimes you just have to do the best you can with the hand you're dealt." Today did not go how it was supposed to go, but that doesn't mean it wasn't good. We spent a lot of time doing absolutely nothing together, and that is one of my favorite things to do.

Happy Anniversary, Lucas.

//045


bottom of page