top of page

Olympics Time

When I was in high school, I watched the Olympics religiously. While I contribute it slightly to the fact that my parents have about seven thousand television channels, I also enjoyed them a lot--especially the Winter Olympics.

Since coming to college I haven't watched them nearly as much because, well, college is hard. This year, however, I'm going to try and at least stay updated. I am updated on the first few days and I have some opinions on it.

For the first time in a very, very long time, North and South Korea were united during the opening ceremony. It basically stole the show--it's a pretty big deal.

The Vice President of the U.S., Mike Pence, and his wife, Karen, were at the game. According to AP's Zeke Miller, they were seated between South Korea's President, Moon Jae-in and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Ave.

Pence only stood for the U.S. team. Then, when the united Korea team came out, he and his wife sat down while every other person there standing and applauding the athletes--whether or not they were from North or South Korea.

If I can jog your memory for a moment, I'd like to remind you of Week 5 of the NFL season when the Indianapolis Colts played the San Francisco 49ers. Mike Pence was at the game and when there were passive protesters kneeling during the national anthem to raise awareness about police brutality against Black Americans, he left. He was not okay with passive protest on that day.

So that begs the question: why does he believe it is okay for himself to sit when a team he does not like enters the Olympics?

Maybe, just maybe, it's a race thing.

//041


bottom of page