top of page

I just want a snow day

In high school I had a lot of snow days. The New London-Spicer school district is very spread out. That means there are a lot of rural roads busses, or student's cars, would have to travel on early in the morning to get them to school. Often times it was deemed to dangerous because the plows were not yet able to clear all of the roads. There were several days when the wind chill would cause frost bite at the bus stop, so they had to cancel it then too.

I love Augustana, and I love its small campus most of the time. But when 85% of your students can make it to any of the academic buildings on campus--even if they're slow walkers--in roughly 4 minutes, you don't get snow days very often. I want a snow day. I want to sit under 5 blankets with a fan blowing and drinking hot chocolate and watching movies.

When I had snow days in high school, movies were often my go-to form of entertainment. Here's 5 movies I would want to watch today if I had a snow day:

1: Harry Potter Marathon

You can't go wrong with a good 'ol HP marathon. Especially if there was a chance the next day would be a snow day, too.

2: Ice Age

I love me a good cartoon. And watching the snow on the television is so, so much better than being outside in it. I didn't actually own Ice Age, but I remember it being played on TV during snow days a lot. Any Disney/Pixar movie will give you the same happiness, though.

3: Home Alone

You can't go wrong with this classic. You just can't.

4: Snow Day

Okay. This movie is hands down one of the most under-rated movies of my child hood. Very few people actually know it but it is GOLDEN. A story about love and adventure with humor and the fight against the evil snow plow man. Anything is possible on a Snow Day.

5: How the Grinch Stole Christmas

This one is not quite a choice, but rather a reaction to a choice. I had a VHS with 3 or 4 movies on it, and the Grinch was recorded right after Snow Day. But don't get me wrong: I love this movie. I will fight you to the death arguing that it's better than the cartoon version and relate to the Grinch's sarcasm like none other.

//036


bottom of page