top of page

I love Little Mix

Here's the deal: Little Mix is amazing. I don't care who you are; I don't care what you do. Those four ladies could literally spit on my face and tell me they hate me and I'd still stan them.

Because Little Mix is highly underrated in the United States, I'm gonna tell you a little bit about them. Jade Thirlwall, Leigh-Anne Pinnock, Jesy Nelson, and the love of my life Perrie Edwards make up the group, which was formed in 2011 on the UK X-Factor. They were the first group to win the show. Nobody was surprised.

Their debut album, DNA, was released in 2012 followed by Salute, Get Weird, and finally Glory Days. Glory Days is famous for their song, "Shout Out To My Ex," which was inspired by Perrie's breakup with former One Direction member Zayn Malik.

I don't thank Zayn for a lot of things in life--he's never pushed me out of the way when a moving bus was about to run me down or shown up to the concert I paid to see him at--but my gratitude towards him has never wavered in one particular case: he introduced me to Little Mix, at least sort of.

Zayn and Perrie started dating in 2012 and then got engaged in 2013 during the height of discovering and falling in love with One Direction. Because Simon Cowell owned the record label of both groups and the two were dating, One Direction promoted Little Mix quite frequently, introducing me to the best girl band since the Spice Girls.

If any of this has caught your attention, keep on reading to see the most underrated Little Mix song from each of their albums that nonetheless will make you a fan of their music:

DNA: Make You Believe

I'm going to be quite honest, DNA is the album I have spent the least amount of time listening to. I wasn't a fan of Little Mix when it was released, so I never had to connection to it that I did with the other albums. I also don't know what songs were regarded as the best--with the exclusion of the singles. That being said, I think this song shows off each member's voice beautifully.

Salute: They Just Don't Know You

This song is very different from most of the others on the album, but I think it shows how they evolved from their first album to their second. It simultaneously makes me want to cry and dance.

Get Weird: A.D.I.D.A.S.

Get Weird is the album that made me fall in love with Little Mix. I liked a few songs from Salute, but this album came out and I could listen to it on a loop. So it is very hard for me to pick a single song, to say the least. But DANG. All Day I Dream About [this Little Mix] Song.

Glory Days: Freak

This song sounds SO DIFFERENT from the others on this album and their previous but I love it. It has equal parts dark and light and equal parts soft and hard and equal parts quiet and loud. This song ain't playing games no more.

Bonus: Dance With Somebody

It is hard--almost impossible--to compete with Whitney. And while Whitney will always, always, always win this cover is pretty dang good.

//026


bottom of page