top of page

There are important things that must be discussed, but first: Ed Sheeran

Today Ed Sheeran announced that he was engaged. I also marched with hundreds of women and men in downtown Sioux Falls to protest injustice. That's important, and I am going to discuss it in great detail on this blog at some point (probably tomorrow).

The thing is, it's already 11:28 so I have exactly 32 minutes to finish this blog before I break my promise to Shonda to blog every day. The strong, brave women who I took photos of and join forces with today deserve more than 32 minutes of my time. (Plus, I have yet to sort through all of my photos and I like telling stories in a multimedia fashion.)

So, I am going to talk about Ed Sheeran instead. While I love him deeply, I still feel as if I can write a cohesive blog about his engagement in 32 minutes.

First off: CONGRATS, ED!!!!

(Who knows, maybe he'll stumble upon this some day)

In a different life--like when I was in tenth grade--I probably would have been a little bit upset that my favorite cuddley lil ginger with the voice of an angel got engaged. This can made known by my mother's comment on my facebook post about the news:

But instead, I was just happy for him--solid proof I am growing up. When I was at his concert in September, right before I started singing Perfect, a song written for his lovely fiancé, he said said something along the lines of, "I am going to sing the best song I've ever wrote now, which I hope I don't say forever otherwise things are really going to go downhill from here."

If he loves his girl enough to write a song like perfect and then want to spend the rest of his life with her trying to find a way to write a better song I just can't be anything but happy for him.

His music has been making me happy for a lot of year--something like six of them. Here's my three favorite songs from his three full length studio albums:

+

You Need Me, I Don't Need You

This was the first Ed Sheeran song I ever hear, the first Ed Sheeran song I ever loved, and it will always have a special place in my heart.

Favorite Lyric: "They say I'm up and coming like I'm fucking in an elevator"

U.N.I

Favorite Lyric: "Pain is only relevant if it still hurts"

Wake Me Up

The ultimate song to listen to when you are shoving chocolate down your throat in a rage and trying to calm yourself down.

Favorite Lyric: "See I could do without a tan on my left hand / where my fourth finger meets my knuckle"

x

Tenerife Sea

This is my all-time favorite Ed song. I was very pleasantly surprised when I heard it for a second time on his Divide tour.

Favorite Lyric: "Cause all that you are is all that I'll ever need"

Photograph

Favorite Lyric: "Loving can heal, loving can mend your soul"

Thinking Out Loud

I mean, who doesn't love this song?

Favorite Lyric: "Cause honey your soul can never grow old, it's evergreen"

÷

Bibia Be Ye Ye

A song that reminds me that sometimes things suck but there is always good music to cheer you up.

Favorite Lyric: "And say you're with me, tomorrow's a brand new day"

What Do I Know?

This song is exactly what 2017 needed, and it's my 2018 resist anthem.

Favorite Lyric: "The revolution's coming, it's a minute away / I saw people marching in the streets today"

Perfect

If it's Ed's favorite song he's ever written, it's gotta be in my top few. I don't make the rules. PLUS: BEYONCE.

Favorite Lyric: "Well I found a woman, stronger than anyone I know / She shares my dreams, I hope that someday I'll share her home"

With 7 minutes to spare, there you have it, folks.

//020


bottom of page