top of page

Another Delay

Yesterday I said I would blog about the Women's March today. But I still haven't edited my pictures and I still feel as if the story will be better told with them. Plus, the Vikings game is on. So, while I have more than 32 minutes to write this blog I am also a bit distracted.

Generally when I blog, I have a plan. I see a tweet or read a news story or have an experience that inspires me, and I set out to write about that specific thing. I am also a faithful outliner when I write papers. I like to be prepared before I write, because I feel my writing is much better when I do so. But today, I have no idea what I'm going to blog about. I am literally writing words right now that will give me a little bit more time to figure out what the next paragraph I write is going to say.

You don't realize it, but I just took a fifteen minute break in between the last paragraph and this one. I was trying to think of something important to day. I am having a lot of trouble thinking of something important. But maybe that is the problem. Everything you say doesn't have to be important.

In the big scheme of things, my blog about my favorite Ed Sheeran songs is not important. My blogs about Rainbow Rowell and photos I've taken and Grey's Anatomy will not make a difference. Sure, my mom and sister and a few of my twitter followers read them. Hopefully a potential employer will see that I've spent time writing and want to give me a chance to write for them. Maybe in 20 years I'll remember it and spend some time reminiscing about what my life was like in 2018.

But this blog is not going to make me any money. This blog is not going to make me a famous journalist. And that is okay. Because it isn't about that. It's simply a spot for me to write. It's a place for me to explore the things I'm thinking and cope with things that bother me. I write here because I think I'm a better person when I write.

So I wrote. And I will continue to write. Because writing is important. Words have power, friends.

//021


bottom of page