top of page

i(dont)HeartRadio Awards

I love music. I listen to it a lot. And while I don't listen to the actual radio much, I've always enjoyed iHeartRadio awards.

I will not enjoy them this year.

Today, iHeartRadio announced the nominees for their best solo breakout:

This was my reaction:

Are they really going to try to make me choose between one direction, and, well, one direction? I mean props to Camilla Cabello—she used to run a one direction fan page and is now nominated in award with them—but COME ON. I also think the nominees this year are all a little problematic in that they all "broke out" into the music industry in bands and it's much easier to be a successful solo artist if you already have fans. The only positive to come from this is that apparently Zayn's music career is as dead to iHeartRadio as it is to me; don't @ me. Maybe one day I'll stop being bitter but that day is not today.

I don't like to choose favorites (I mean, Niall always has and always will be my favorite member of one direction, but that is beside the point). So, to honor my faves here are my favorite solo songs from my favorite band:

Liam: Bedroom Floor

Favorite lyrics: "We always on and off until you're on me"

Rate: 7/10

Justification: Despite being a little repetitive, this song is just a BOP. It makes you wanna groove and it shows off Liam's wonderful range beautifully.

Louis: Just Hold On

Favorite lyrics: "What do you do when a chapter ends?‬‪ Do you close the book and never read it again?‬"

Rate: 9/10

Justification: I am a sucker for emotions. This song is full of them in a way his others just aren't. And that's saying something considering the lyrics of the other songs he's released.

Harry: Two Ghosts

Favorite lyrics: "Same lips red, same eyes blue / Same white shirt, couple more tattoos / But it's not you and it's not me"

Rate: 8/10

Justification: Especially in the live version above, Harry's angsty sentiments in this song with the force he puts behind his voice makes me feel as if I am one of the characters in the song.

Niall: Since We're Alone

Favorite lyrics: "Show me all that you are / And if you get lost in the light / It's okay, I can see in the dark"

Rate: 10/10

Justification: This song feels brutally honest. It feels real. And it simply sounds beautiful.

It took ten whole days before I blogged about one direction and I think that just needs to be recognized before this blog is over.

//010


bottom of page