top of page

It's our bye weeek

I am a big 'ol Vikings fan. I bleed purple and gold. SKOL and stuff.

But for real, I have loved the Vikings longer than I have loved almost any other "thing" in my life. My love for them has never wavered--even when it probably should have. And I think it might finally be our year. Like, I genuinely believe we could be the first team in NFL history to win a Super Bowl at home. I am optimistic. I am not generally optimistic. But I am right now with this team in these circumstances.

Generally at this point in the NFL season, I'm no longer watching football on Sundays because my Vikes have already managed to get eliminated from the playoffs, or, probably even more likely, never made it to the playoffs to begin with. BUT TODAY. Today, my friends, I am not watching football because my Vikes have a bye week. They are the kings of the North. And they get to rest today.

So, instead of watching the Vikings play, I'm going to write about them. Here's my favorite memories as a Vikings fan this season (in no particular order):

1: Randy Moss interviewing Adam Thielen

I loved Randy Moss. I loved Randy Moss when he played for the Vikings when I was a kid. And I loved Randy Moss when he returned to the Vikings for a month in 2010

I also love Adam Thielen. He is the definition of a feel-good story. He loved the Vikings and grew up to be a Viking.

And this video of them together is love and life and light:

2: Karma following Blair Walsh to Seattle

I remember watching the Vikings and Seahawks game in disbelief in my dorm room sophomore year. Blair Walsh missed the field goal and my heart broke in half. Here is actual live footage of the event:

But then he missed in a very similar fashion in a very important game for the Seahawks. Maybe not playoff determining, but I'll take it. The tweets that followed the event took away every last ounce of bitter I had left.

3: CJ Ham stepping up

Not only did I grow up SKOLing, I went to a school where my mascot was a Viking. I am meant to cheer for teams who love to chant SKOL. And Vikings fullback CJ Ham is apparently made to play for them. After not seeing much time on the field last year, he has made me want to believe in all the D2 athletes who think playing football at Augie will get them somewhere. It is surreal hearing "Augustana University" every Sunday. And I love it.

4: Brandon Zylstra getting signed to a futures contract

Not only does someone from my beloved college play for the Vikings, but now someone who graduated from my high school got signed to a futures contract.

This Vikings team is everything I have ever dreamed of.

5: SKOL chants breaking out in Lambeau

First shut out in my life time.

SKOl took over Lambeau.

'nuff said.

6: Teddy getting a standing ovation when he returned this year

Yeah, yeah, yeah, Case Keenum is doing amazing and Teddy threw an interception and everything. But man. I love Teddy Bridgewater. And this was fun to watch.

7: Duck Duck Gray Duck

FOR THE LAST TIME: IT'S NOT DUCK DUCK GOOSE. Team celebrations after touchdowns is one of the best things to happen to the NFL this season. And this was hands down the best celebration (Especially this one):

8: Tay Train

Latavius Murray stepped up after Dalvin Cook tore his ACL and I love it. I mean, he calls himself TAY train. Plus he has his own website where he sells his own amazing merchandise. And he does this cute little thing every time he does something good and it gives me so much joy.

9: Beating Adrian Peterson and the dirty, dirty Saints week 1

I don't like Adrian Peterson. I used to. And then I found out he beat his kid. And, further, I don't think he was good for the Vikings throughout the last few years. I'm not arguing that he wasn't an amazing football player years ago. But in his last few seasons with the Vikings he fumbled too much and he didn't get enough yards per carry and he beat his kid. And there is no way Case would have been given the chance to throw as much (and as well) as he did if 28 was still in the backfield.

I also don't like the Saints. They're dirty and they crushed my hopes and dreams in 2010 when they, ya know, were literally paid to try to injure Brett Favre. I would have been happy with this season if our only win had been week one. It was a good win.

10: Sundays.

Man. I just really love Sundays.

SKOL.

//007


bottom of page