top of page

Old Girl

IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THE LATEST SEASON OF NEW GIRL I WOULD STOP RIGHT HERE--YOU'VE BEEN WARNED.

I love New Girl. Each episode I watch, I find a way to connect something some character is going through to my own life. No matter how many times I watch an episode, I will giggle endlessly. Today Fox announced that the final season premieres on April 10th.

It's a little bittersweet for me. I've spent years watching this show. One of my earliest memories with Luke is watching New Girl in my dorm freshman year. I've seen the Prince episode so many times I can literally recite it as it goes. I'm not ready for it to end, but I'm also so excited to see how it does.

That being said, here are five predictions I have for the last season of New Girl:

1. Winston's Dad is going to ruin E V E R Y T H I N G...

Last season, Aly found Winston's long lost dad's phone number, and, in trying to get Jess to stay in the loft, Winston called his dad. We're certainly going to see something about how that went down. Because there is going to be a three year time jump between last season and the final season, we will probably see Winston meet his dad through flashbacks. And, because Winston is the most underrated character on the show and Hollywood likes to perpetrate the idea of Black fathers being bad fathers, Winston's dad will probably cause some sort of drama.

2. ...and then there will be some sort of happy resolution

But, because I like to have faith in the creators of New Girl, I am hoping that we will get to see a reconciliation between them. My prediction: the first few episodes we'll meet his father in flashbacks and hear about how awful it was, and midway through the season Winston's dad will come back into the picture and make up with his son (or at least try). AND, hopefully, Winston will forgive his father and find peace and continue to be amazing.

3. Schmidt and CeCe are going to rise

A while back a picture of Schmidt and CeCe's baby, Ruth, was released. And let me tell you, she is the cutest little thing I have ever seen. Here's some proof:

It was reported that Schmidt is supposedly going to be a stay-at-home dad while CeCe runs her model agency, CeCe's Boys. I want to see CeCe rise. I want to see her feel smart and talented--because she is SO smart. I want to see her owning her own business and representing top clients. I want to see her show the world that a mom can work and still be a great mom. And I want to see Schmidt support her every step of the way while attending PTA meetings and competing with other parents at bake sales and getting frustrated when his daughter kicks his butt at board games.

4. Nick will take the bar to the next level

Not to sound dramatic, but I think I would literally die for Nick Miller. I simultaneously feel as if I am him and also as if want to be in love with him. Which is weird. BUT MY FEELINGS ARE VALID. And with Schmidt taking on the responsibilities of caring for his little caramel miracle, Nick is going to want something to care for in the same way. Being the Nick Miller we all know and love, he will certainly view the bar as his baby (even more so than he has in previous seasons).

5. There will be a Nick and Jess wedding

This one just might be me hoping. But I NEED to see a Nick and Jess wedding--especially after last season's finale. New Girl wedding episodes are always amazing. From the guys doing the chicken dance with Jess, to the pranks that lef to Jess and Nick running away together at CeCe and Shivrang's wedding, to Schmidt getting stuck on an airplane and ending up having a FaceTime wedding followed by a wedding in the loft, the episodes never disappoint. A Nick and Jess wedding would not disappoint. Nick and Jess are my everything. They are the ultimate duo. Plus, at a table read they looked like this:

Whether or not these things actually happen, I sure am excited for April 10th. (I am less excited for May 15th when the one-hour series finale airs four days before I graduate college. There are going to be many tears.)

//004


bottom of page