top of page

We're Going to Albuquerque!

I'm getting quite sick of winter. It seems that day after day in this tundra called South Dakota there is more snow and a bitter wind that is somehow more bitter than the day before. I despise winter.

You see, I want to be a Lorelai in the the snow, but really I'm just more of a Luke.

So, for the first time I'm going somewhere warm for spring break! No South Padre Island or Miami, but rather Albuquerque! Yes, I'm going to New Mexico and I'm pretty damn excited. We've already started planning which dorky museums we want to see first:

Last year for spring break, Luke and I went to a Panic! at the Disco concert and the Henry Doorly Zoo in Omaha, and then to an escape room and a neat bar filled with old-arcade style video games in Kansas City. It's not that it wasn't fun, but Omaha and Kansas City are not places that were out of the norm for me.

Albuquerque is out of the norm, and somehow that makes it seem a little more exciting. You see, it's not going to be the typical college spring break trip to the South. Part of me wishes I would have done that during one of my four years in undergrad. But alas, I have very high hopes for the 4 days I'm spending in Albuquerque.

Those four days will be spent in a townhouse that we rented for only one hundred and fifty four dollars!!! Since we've booked it, the rental has more than doubled in it's price per night. We booked it right after the renter joined Airbnb, so we got a stellar price before they realized how much they could make! LOOK HOW NICE IT IS FOR S O L I T T LE M O N E Y:

And most importantly:

There are going to be so many margaritas and so much Mexican food consumed by this pool.

We're also planning on going on the Sandia Peak tramway to get views like this:

Not to mention, it's the hot air balloon capital of the world. Now, it's like $400 to to go in the air on a balloon. But we DID find a hot air balloon museum that has an admission price of exactly $4. And if we could get some fake New Mexico IDs it would only be $3!

The biggest problem: there is no wifi. But don't worry, we already plan to bring Grey's Anatomy on dvd and I've got the Wix app so I can write my blogs on my phone!

//053


bottom of page