top of page

Sophie likes the Olympics

My roommate Khiah's boyfriend is very obsessed with the Huskers. When Grey's 300th episode was on he was here and I told him to get ready. This summer when it was the 7th anniversary of One Direction being formed our summer subleaser, Rob, had no idea what was going on. Luke doesn't get obsessed with things; he likes video games and the huskers and fish but he doesn't LOVE anything like Derek loves the Huskers and I love Grey's Anatomy or One Direction.

Until this week I didn't think Sophie loved anything that much either. Sure, she likes television and making jokes about poop more than most people, but I have never seen her so devoted to something as she has been to the Olympics this week. She asked a few times when the games were supposed to start, but I had no idea how much she was gonna care when they started.

She wills people she doesn't want to win to fall. She talks to herself when there is nobody else in the living room--I know, because I can hear her from my room. She spends hours on twitter scrolling through her new favorite athlete's feeds. The amount of times I have heard "THERE ARE *SO* MANY 17 YEAR OLDS" this week has got to be some sort of record.

She also gives anybody and everybody who will listen facts that I can only imagine took the library's special, expensive databases to learn. She told me about how many condoms were distributed and how many that means each athlete got--37, if you were wondering--and knew how the number of condoms distributed at PyeongChang compared to the number of condoms distributed at other games.

When we talked about Red Gerard overslept and lost his coat and said "fuck" on live television, she told me more facts about his family than I know about most members of my own. And let me tell you, if she had a nickel for every time she mentioned something about Adam Rippon we could manage to fix every single thing that is wrong with our crappy, crappy college house.

I mean, don't get me wrong... I like the Olympics. I've got no problem with them. I would even say I enjoy them. But holy guacamole. Sophie REALLY loves the Olympics. I think I better not plan on watching anything on television from 6pm-midnight for until the end of February.

//043


bottom of page